Site da USP

GRE test (PhD students)

Scholarships for PhD students at the University of Sao Paulo



The Immunology Graduate Program at Institute of Biomedical Sciences is participating in this initiative of enrolling PhD students by using general GRE test, as one step of its admission process.


USP and FAPESP Joint Initiative

On August 17th, 2017, USP and FAPESP have just launched the pioneer initiative to enroll PhD students at USP most qualified graduate programs. The selection procedure will be based on GRE scores, being the highest scores qualified to apply for one of the 30 (thirty) available scholarships from FAPESP. Candidates from all areas of knowledge are stimulated to participate in this program.

The University of Sao Paulo is a comprehensive research university with 268 graduate programs and around 25,000 students, being 15,000 PhDs. USP is ranked among the top universities in Latin America according to the most prestigious international rankings, such as Times Higher Education, QS, ARWH Shangai, etc. USP contributes 23% or 11,000 of the research papers from Brazil on the global academic stage, which places the university among the top 30 largest scientific contributors in the world.


Who can apply?

Any student in Brazil and around the world holding scores from GRE General Test > or = 155 (Verbal Reasoning) and > or = 158 (Quantitative Reasoning) and > or = 4,0 (Analytical Writing), based on the scores of Test Takers from July 1st, 2012 to June 30th, 2015 (see page 22 from the link:

Deadlines for Test Taker exams will be October 15th, 2017.

Test takers holding scores from January 1st, 2017 until August, 17th, 2017 are also elegible. In this case, they must send their scores and the respective graduate program of interest (please see list below) to before October 31st, 2017.

The GRE DI Code for USP is 2348, which allows you to choose the graduate program.

For more information, please contact:


List of Supervisor and researcher lines of Immunology Graduate Program

Pedro Manoel Mendes Moraes Vieira – Immunometabolism

Maria Regina D’Imperio Lima – Immunology of infectious diseases: Malaria and Tuberculosis

José Maria Alvarez Mosig – Immunology of infectious diseases: Chagas’ Disease

Bruna Cunha de Alencar Bargieri – Immunology of HIV infectious: role of myosins in dendritic cells and macrophages

Sandro Almeida – Immunology of infectious diseases: Fungi diseases

Niels Olsen Saraiva Camara – Regulation of inflammatory response and autoimmunity